top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngel Jauhari

Japan ISC65: The Preparation

Updated: Nov 17, 2021

I wrote this in July 2019 during the lunch break at my intern office. I thought of writing a little about my preparation before a conference in Japan this August: International Student Conference (ISC65). This conference has reached its 65th year with Remi Nakazeki, my friend, as the current President.


Before we got into the preparation, I'd love to tell you about the selection. It consists of two phases: written and spoken. In the written phase, you'd be asked several questions related to the topic you chose. You can see the list of this year's topic right here. Mine is about Freedom of Speech. Basically I answered those questions by contextualizing my answers with the status quo in Indonesia. Afterwards, the Committee Member will send you an email on whether you pass the first phase or not. Once you got accepted, the spoken one will be held in the form of Skype interview with the Table Chief and Sub-Table Chief.


My group consists of 8 participants from Bangladesh, Bulgaria, Indonesia, India, Japan, and USA, with the Chiefs from Croatia and Japan. As we're domiciled separately, we prepare our conference materials far before the d-day by having online meetings and submitting some small research through Google Scholar. For this time being, we're assigned as a pair to compare each country's FoS condition. I work with Namie to research both Indonesia and USA's problems on freedom of expression. It's our second assignment since the first online meeting.




I perceive this conference as fun as my routines in college. I do enjoy being its participant, noting that it's gonna be my second time going to this chance as well.

--

Feel free to ask me about ISC! Kindly send your request to jauhariangel@gmail.com

212 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page