top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngel Jauhari

The Nagoya Story

Updated: Apr 1, 2022

It was never an easy journey


Hi! Welcome to #TheNagoyaStory. I'm a student, Indonesian, and here's my personal reflection about my last trip to Japan, represented in photos and writings.


Going to Japan for a conference was not that easy, financially. It's my first journey in everything: travelling miles away, looking for funds, all of them all alone. Thankfully, it was also not that hard. I met these people who encouraged me during my hard times. I began selling cute socks (@sockatuhh) and my friends helped a lot with the online promotion. I looked for some sponsorship to support my accommodation. When my money was still not enough, I proposed a deadline extension to pay for the fee, to the General Affairs of the conference.


That background story was in 2018. My first time going to Japan. The next year, Japan invited me back for the same purpose. I again self-funded my trip. It was way easier than the previous year as I knew the hows. At the end of the day, everything worked! 😊




I remember how my Japanese friends greeted me, did small talks about how my flight was. It was a nice ending to the day.


Now, you're reading this. Thank you for coming! It's simply a time capsule I'd like to share. It tells how every nice thing can happen on a simple day. If only I could have the magic lamp, this is what I'm gonna say: Take me back!


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page